South America

South America is a continent located in the western hemisphere, mostly in the southern hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the northern hemisphere.   It is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sea lie to the northwest.

South America includes twelve sovereign states — Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.  South America also includes  a part of France –French Guyana– and a non-sovereign area — the Falkland Islands, a British Overseas Territory though this is disputed by Argentina.  In addition to this, the ABC islands of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Trinidad and Tobago, and Panama may also be considered part of South America.

Our penultimate race will be held in Punta Arenas, Chile.  Punta Arenas is located at the southern tip of Chile.  There we will participate in The 5th Annual Southern Cross Marathon and Half-Marathon, where we will be joined by up to 50 other runners from around the globe.